Posted on

Over in a blink

So because I suck, I didn’t keep up on my blog the way I told myself and others that I would while I was on my internship. It was a combination of limited internet connection while I was on set, doing actual work, and major procrastination. I’ll never lie an say I’m not a master procrastinator.

But honestly a big part of it was that I was having so much fun and spending so much time learning that I didn’t want to take time out of my day to sit down and write about it because I was living it. So, unfortunately, my blog suffered but I had an absolutely amazing experience and made some unbelievable memories.

First of all working with Jeff Wedding, Katie Groshong, and Eric Stanze was a completely unforgettable experience.  First of all just being in the presence of people with so much passion for what they’re doing that they are not only not being paid (and if they are it’s not much) for what they’re doing, but are actually putting their own money into this project to make it happen is inspiring in and of itself. I’ve always been someone who admires passion above all else. Everything that I’ve considered doing with my life has to do with working with people who are truly passionate about what they do.

I wound up taking a week off after my first few days since they only would have needed me 2 days, and from where I was staying in Nashville I couldn’t justify a nearly 2 hour drive for one night, and I had a few things to try and take care of at school. Katie was super understanding and was very good about letting me control my schedule since I was there doing it completely for free (not even getting credit for it).

While I was there Jeff kept asking me one question: “Are you having fun?”

He would ask me at least once every two days, and my response quickly became the same thing every time: “I wouldn’t be here if I wasn’t.”

And it was true.

I had nothing to lose if I chose to just bail after three days. I still could have put it on a resume, I still had made connections and networked a little bit, and I could still say that I interned on a movie set. But I was having a blast. I know on my last blog I talked about how there was a lot of waiting around and I had to me quiet a lot (and we all know how hard it is for me to be quiet!), but even with all that I had so much fun.

I loved watching things unfold and come together before my eyes.

The number one thing that happened through this whole experience was gaining a whole new appreciation for the people who work behind the scenes on a movie set. It’s a really crazy thing to see how much goes into making a movie. Most people credit everything to the actors, but it’s such an incredibly small part of the production process.

I had an experience that I would never trade for anything in the world.

Feel free to leave questions in the comments and I will definitely answer what I can!

Check out GypsyRoot Productions and their other films like Gracie: Diary of a Coma Patient, A Measure of the Sin, and Night of the Babysitter and make sure you get your hands on a copy of Tennessee Gothic once it’s released. And check out Eric Stanze’s work such as In Memory Of and Scrapbook.

Tennessee Gothic Indiegogo: https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/tennessee-gothic–2#/

Katie Groshong IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1722962/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1

Jeff Wedding IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1723196/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1

GypsyRoot Production Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gypsyrootproductions/

Eric Stanze IMDB: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0822855/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1

 

 

Leave a Reply

